Ontario Emerging Technologies Fund

The Ontario Emerging Technologies Fund (OETF or the Fund) is a direct co-investment fund established by the Province of Ontario in 2009. The Government has announced that the OETF will be a $250 million fund to co-invest alongside Qualified Investors into innovative, high-growth, private, Ontario companies. The Fund is managed by the Ontario Capital Growth Corporation (OCGC), an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation. OCGC has retained the services of Covington Capital Corporation and Ernst & Young to evaluate applications in relation to OETF. Covington Capital Corporation will also provide ongoing administration and monitoring of co-investments under the Fund. All OETF-related decisions will be made by OCGC and all inquiries regarding the OETF should be directed to OCGC. The OETF is designed to respond to the challenges faced in raising capital by innovative, private, Ontario-based companies in the clean technology, life sciences and advanced health technologies, and digital media and information and communications technology sectors. The OETF is intended to increase the amount of investment made directly into Ontario-based companies in the sectors noted above, and to become self-sustaining by allowing it to reinvest any returns from its investments. It is a discretionary, non-entitlement investment fund. Notwithstanding the satisfaction of all criteria, OCGC may exercise its discretion not to approve any particular application for Qualified Investor or Eligible Investment. In undertaking review of applications, OCGC at its discretion, will retain third party expertise as applicable. The Fund model is based on a number of design principles that are consistent with achieving the government’s goal and objectives for the Fund:

  • Market-based investment decisions – identification of investment opportunities will be undertaken by qualified investors that have a proven track record of success and have been pre-qualified by Ontario
  • Rapid deployment of capital – the Fund will have the ability to make investments directly into companies within a short time frame
  • Focus on key industry sectors for Ontario – the Fund will focus its investments on sectors of strategic importance to the province
  • Government’s role as a catalyst – Ontario will act as a catalyst to leverage private sector capital.
  • Ability to make additional investments into an investee company – the Fund will be able to make both initial and follow-on investments to support the ongoing growth of high potential, innovative companies.

Further details regarding the OETF can be found in the Fund Guidelines document located below.

The following documents contain additional information

Fonds ontarien de développement des technologies émergentes

Le Fonds ontarien de développement des technologies émergentes (le FODTE ou le Fonds) est un fonds d’investissement direct établi par la province de l’Ontario en 2009. Le gouvernement a annoncé que le FODTE serait doté d’un budget maximal de 250 millions de dollars afin de faire des coinvestissements, de concert avec les investisseurs admissibles, dans des entreprises ontariennes privées, innovantes et à forte croissance. Le Fonds est géré par la Société ontarienne de financement de la croissance (SOFC), organisme du ministère de la Recherche et Innovation de l’Ontario. La SOFC a retenu les services de Covington Capital Corporation et de Ernst & Young pour l’assister dans l’évaluation des demandes dans le cadre du FODTE. Covington Capital Corporation s’occupera aussi de l’administration et de la surveillance continues de ces coinvestissements aux termes du Fonds. Toutes les décisions relatives au FODTE seront prises par la SOFC; toutes les demandes de renseignements concernant le FDTE devront être adressées à la SOFC. Le FODTE a été conçu pour aider les sociétés ontariennes innovantes privées des secteurs des technologies propres, des sciences de la vie, des technologies de la santé de pointe, et des médias numériques, de la technologie de l’information et des communications, qui ont de la difficulté à obtenir des capitaux. Le FODTE a pour objet d’accroître le montant des investissements directement versés aux sociétés ontariennes actives dans les secteurs susmentionnés et de les aider à devenir autosuffisantes en leur permettant de réinvestir les rendements de leurs investissements. C’est un programme de financement discrétionnaire et, même si tous les critères sont remplis, le FODTE peut décider de ne pas approuver une demande d’investisseur ou d’investissement admissible. Le modèle du Fonds repose sur un certain nombre de principes de conception conformes aux buts et objectifs que le gouvernement a établis pour le Fonds :

  • Décisions d’investissement fondées sur le marché – les investisseurs admissibles, qui se sont distingués par leurs réussites et ont été jugés admissibles en Ontario, détermineront les occasions de placement.
  • Déploiement rapide des capitaux – le Fonds aura la capacité d’investir directement dans des sociétés dans un court laps de temps.
  • Pleins feux sur les principaux secteurs d’activité de l’Ontario – le Fonds concentrera ses investissements sur des secteurs d’importance stratégique pour la province.
  • Rôle du gouvernement à titre de catalyseur – l’Ontario fera office de catalyseur pour tirer parti des capitaux du secteur privé.
  • Capacité d’investir des montants supplémentaires dans une entité détenue – le Fonds pourra faire des investissements initiaux et de suivi pour appuyer l’expansion des sociétés innovantes à fort potentiel.

On trouvera plus de précisions sur le FODTE sur ce site Web sous « Lignes directrices du Fonds ontarien de développement des technologies émergentes ».

Les documents suivants contiennent des informations supplémentaires